| 
  • If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • Want to organize your cloud files? Sign up for a free webinar to see how Dokkio (a new product from PBworks) can help you find, organize, and collaborate on your Drive, Gmail, Dropbox, and Slack files: Weds, May 27 at 2PM Eastern / 11AM Pacific
View
 

Databases

Page history last edited by Kim Zito 9 months, 1 week ago

 

  Crossroads North Databases

See Ms. Zito for a list of passwords

 

 

Name

Content

Of Special Interest to Teachers

Scholastic Go!

Online Encyclopedia: Science/ Social Studies

Go Tube Videos

Current Events 

Atlas

Articles are lexiled and color-coded by reading level--a great way to differentiate by content.

Students also have option for read aloud for every article.

World Book

 

Online Encyclopedia

Current Events

Biography Center

Videos 

Students can explore or create their own timelines

 

Translations! Every article can be translated into

numerous languages for our Language Learner students.

Articles are lexiled and have a read-aloud feature.

Infobase Learning

 

History Research Center

American History

Modern World History

African-American History

American Indian History

Ancient and Medieval History

Science Online

World Geography and Culture Online

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center

Health Reference Center

Bloom's Literature

Curriculum Resource Center

In addition to Lesson Plans, you'll find:

Handouts, Fact Sheets, Timelines, Printable Maps, Science

diagrams and experiments, and math activities

.

EBSCOhost 

 Magazine, Journal and Encyclopedia Articles

Student Research Center

Points of View

Novelist
Literary Reference Center

 

Working on argument writing? Try Points of View for examples.

Encouraging readers? Novelist has booktalks and read-alikes and is searchable.  Alexandria Researcher uses these features to embed reading suggestions , too.

Middle Plus database has lexiled articles, and students can refine results based upon lexile.

Students can attach articles directly to assignments in Classroom.

Learn360 

Videos covering all subject areas

 Teachers can sign into Learn360 with their Google account, and then can link/ upload videos right into classroom.

Students can also attach videos to class assignments.

BrainPOP

 

Animated clips covering topics in Health, Science, Math, Technology, English and Social Studies.

Note: New Password! 

Get started with My BrainPOP so your students

can submit quizzes, concept maps, and other work

to you with their school accounts. For integration with Classroom, access BrainPOP through the More link under the Google Applications Grid. See Ms. Zito for help.

Ebooks 

 
 

World Book eBooks

 

 

 Titles may also be accessed through general World Book login or through Alexandria Researcher.

 

Gale Virtual Reference
Library (eBooks) 
 

 More than 1,500 Reference titles on any subject including health, science, art, history, biography, and more.

Searchable collection of reference books.

All have read-aloud capability.

Translations available into hundreds of languages.

 

FollettShelf Ebooks

 

Read one of our fiction or professional titles online

Core novels have been purchased so that you can annotate and comment on them or use them to display text to students. 

ASCD Education Collection

 

For Teachers: Professional Collection of Ebooks from ASCD

 
Articles can be downloaded as MP3's to listen to as you can podcasts. No login required from district computers. 

 

From Outside Our Library:


South Brunswick Public Library Databases

Use your South Brunswick Public Library Card to access these databases or ask Mrs. Zito for a library card number.       

eLibraryNJ 

Download ebooks and audiobooks to read from a phone or other device. Requires a public library card.

 

 

 

 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Databases Lesson  Grade 8: Vaccinations and Measles

 

 

 

Learning Target

 

 

 

Read this article to begin to think about the controversy over measles and other infectious diseases and vaccines.

 

 

 

Newsela: 

 

Kids without measles vaccine told not to come to school

 

 

 

Choose and read the article at the reading level that is closest to your own.

 

 

 

  • Staying safe from measles means no school for some Lexile 740

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • Winning the Measles Battle Lexile 970     

 

 

 

 

  • Kids WIthout Measles Vaccine Told Not to Come to School  Lexile: 1060

 

 

 

 

  • California Struggles with High Numbers of Unvaccinated Children Lexile 1190

 

 

 

 

On your worksheet, analyze what the issue is with vaccinations.

 

 

 

Now Let's do some Research Using Databases

 

http://www.sbschools.org/schools/xrds/mediacenter/teacher_resources/DatabasesandEBooks-North.php

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.